A WEEKEND IN KLAIPEDA

Church is a continuing problem, in order to find somewhere we feel properly worshipful. This morning we tried the Catholic church, a 3 block walk through the cold and snow.  I was hoping I would recognize the liturgy even though in another language and would be able to sort of follow along in my mind.  However, I didn’t know what was going on except for communion.  This church is quite large and we estimated there might be as many as 300-400 in attendance which was good to see. Theater-type comfortable seats were also good to see.  I hope to go back and take some photos. Today there were still 4 large Christmas trees in the sanctuary–don’t know when they consider Christmas to be over.  The church was not heated except for 2 hanging, 5 -direction heaters.  I promise to not complain about how cold The Redeemer is again.

Chuck has gone over to his office for a little class prep and I am preparing to cook  a good old fried chicken dinner for family night at John and Rachel’s.   One of these days I will be brave and cook something from my Lithuanian cook book.  I have been reading through it this afternoon and here is one recipe I just must pass along to you–I’ll abbreviate somewhat but I think this is all you’ll need to prepare it:

PORK ROULADE  -2 pork ears, 4 pork feet, 3 chopped onions, 3 sliced carrots, bay leaf, parsley sprigs.  Boil meat till soft, add vegetables and cook 30 min. Remove meat, flatten ears and let cool. Cut up meat from feet and layer on each ear.  Roll up and tie with string, keep weighted down for 30 min.  Remove string, place in deep dish and cover with cooking liquid,chill for several hours.  Slice, place on serving platter and surround with jelled cooking liquid, sprinkle with carrot slices and decorate wit parsley springs.  Serve with marinated beets.     BON APPETITE!

Some of the dishes actually do sound appetizing and we have had 3 good restaurant meals so I am thinking of asking someone at the university to get a local expert to come in and do a one-time cooking class on Lithuanian cuisine for those of us who are interested in  how to make potato dumplings at least.

Speaking of food–we had a nice lunch yesterday when we were downtown with Egle.   We first went to the bakery and coffee shop and learned to read the menu there (as well as eating bandeles–sweet rolls) and then went on to the market where she helped us in reading signs identifying different types  and cuts of meat.  I am definitely picking up more vocabulary all the time.  Though I can read the words, I’m still having difficulty with pronunciation.  I have decided not to take the Lithuanian class as it would require so much time and effort and it seems like a lot to give for something I will use for such a short time–I am happy just to be learning useful phrases and words for shopping and basic interaction with others.

Here are some photos from the market and from lunch at the Stora Antis (Fat Duck).

Chuck checks out the meat

We pose with the owner in Stora Antis. An ex-sea dog from a tramp freighter.

My delicious Borshch, accompanied by an elegant glass of Coke.

Chuck's dumplings, with sour cream and fried onions.

After lunch, Egle left us and we then visited the Clock Museum, a short walk away.  It was not a bad museum–more than 1,000 clocks and watches including replicas of the very first efforts to measure time.  There was also a special exhibit of paintings which had beside them, as best as I can describe it, Braille copies of the paintings that could be felt by the blind–hills and valleys and various textures.  I’m attaching an example and hope you can see it.

The painting. Do not touch.

Braille copy. You were encouraged to touch the painting itself. Also had sound and light.

a fancy clock

The end to a long day in downtown Klaipeda–we stop at the Ikki on our way home from the bus stop and pick up some supplies–as many as Chuck can carry–being gallant and aware of my aching knee, he insisted on carrying it all.  Here he is, walking ahead of me looking like all the Lithuanians we see carrying their groceries home each day.

A typical Lithuanian shopper

Now we go to have dinner with John, Rachel and children–our weekly family night.

Viso garo  (Goodbye – don’t forget to roll your `Rs’.)

2 thoughts on “A WEEKEND IN KLAIPEDA

  1. Love the pictures. The recipe produced a chuckle – – I can’t imagine preparing it, Bonnie, much less consuming it! I might have to be a vegetarian – – -that would be much easier. I’m so spoiled to American food (such as:Tex-Mex, “Southern”, American-style Pizza).. I’m such a wimp when it comes to food – – – and other things, too, I’m sure (not to be specific as to what they are). Thanks for the post.
    bg

  2. Chuck and Bonnie, I can’t wait to dine out with you two and try the local favorite delicacies. As regards food, I’ll try anything once! I especially look forward to the beer and wine. I’ll bet it’s good. But, I really want to try some local vodka. Das vidanya! Frank and Hope

Leave a Reply

